Booth: 1037

U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science (SC)

Overview: The Department of Energy's (DOE's) Office of Science is an indispensable pillar of America's leadership in science and technology. We are the nation's largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences, the steward of ten national laboratories, and the lead federal agency supporting fundamental research for energy. We support over 25,000 researchers, scientists, engineers, and students at national laboratories and in more than 300 universities and institutions of higher learning in all 50 States and the District of Columbia. The Office of Science provides the world's largest array of scientific user facilities major research infrastructure including supercomputers, large-scale x-ray light sources, neutron scattering sources, and sophisticated facilities for nanoscience and genomic sequencing serving more than 29,000 researchers from universities, government laboratories, and industry each year. The Office of Science User Facilities are key to U.S. leadership in research and have enabled U.S. industry to achieve breakthroughs in areas ranging from drug discovery to the design of vehicles, aircraft, and jet engines. Over 40 Fortune 500 companies and dozens of small businesses use the facilities each year.